Tropical Hut's Tropical Cheeseburger Meal

Tropical Hut’s Cheeseburger Meal

I went to the bank to request for a card replacement after all my cards and cellphone were stolen. I took a number and waited for my turn. My number was 91 and the last one called was number 61. To make matters worse, they announced that the bank’s network system was slow. In short, I came out of the bank after more than an hour of waiting. It was almost noon and I was hungry.

So I passed by Tropical Hut, a hamburger restaurant that has been in the country for more than 50 years. Nostalgia comes to me whenever I eat here. This is the my first hamburger that I’ve ever tasted. It used to be wrapped in foil, hot off the grill, bun with sesame seeds filled with an all-beef patty, with mayonnaise, ketchup, mustard, pickles, and topped with a slice of cheddar cheese. And this was years before A&W and McDonald’s came to this country.

I ordered the Tropical Cheeseburger Meal and macaroni salad. The meal consists of a cheeseburger, regular sized French fries, and a glass of soft drink which all cost Php 105.00 (around $2.10 USD). The cup of chicken macaroni salad, however, is expensive at Php 60.00 (around $1.20 USD). Their prices are slightly higher as compared to other fast food outlets around despite the fact that they never went all-out to compete with their competitors.

Today, the cheeseburger is wrapped with a printed laminated paper. Still served hot off the grill but no more pickles. You need to get the ketchup and mustard bottles from the condiment section and put these on your burger as you desire. The beef patty still tastes the same, that classic beefy taste seasoned and grilled well.

The French fries were crispy and not too salty. I can eat it without ketchup. It went perfectly well with my favorite soft drink, Sarsi, a brand of rootbeer.

Nothing seems changing at Tropical Hut. They still have the same color scheme and the same menu (although some items were added a few months or years ago). They remained consistent throughout the years.

Leave a Reply

