sauteed mussels

Sauteed Mussels

 

My mother in-law bought one-fourth kilo of Asian green mussels (Perna viridis) for me. She knows that I like it and since I’m the only one in the family who eats this, I am going to prepare myself lunch.

Asian green mussels are native in the Asia-Pacific region and available all-year round in the Philippines. It is harvested for food but is also known to harbor toxins especially from dinoflagellates (red tides) on some seasons. Mussels can be smoked, boiled, steamed, roasted, barbecued or fried in butter or vegetable oil. But what I did was saute them with lots of ginger and onions.

So I let the shellfish soak in water for more than an hour, undisturbed. This will let them “breathe” out a little. Live mussels, when in the air, will shut tightly when disturbed. Open, unresponsive, floating mussels are dead, and must be discarded.  Then I rinsed them and removed the “beard” and those white patches the stuck on the shell. Once done, I let them soak again in water.

Mussels are excellent source of selenium, vitamin B12, zinc, and folate. So here is my recipe of Ginisang Tahong (Sauteed Asian Green Mussels):

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/4 kg Asian green mussels, cleaned of “beard”
  • 2 Tbsp cooking oil
  • 1 Tbsp sliced ginger
  • 1 clove of garlic, sliced
  • 1 medium sized onion, sliced
  • 1 Tbsp fish sauce (patis)
  • 1/8 tsp of ground black pepper

PROCEDURE:

  1.  Heat oil in a wok. Then add ginger, garlic, and onions, one at a time.
  2. Add the mussels.
  3. Season with fish sauce and ground pepper.
  4. Mix once to blend the ingredients together and let the shells open and juices come out.
  5. Once all shells are opened, you may serve with steamed rice.
Leave a Reply

